Photo by Melody

Carnivorous Plants: Tell me about your Carnivorous Plants! :)

Communities > Forums > Carnivorous Plants
bookmark
Forum: Carnivorous PlantsReplies: 70, Views: 545
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
starsplitter7
Tampa, FL
(Zone 9b)

June 24, 2009
3:55 PM

Post #6732014

I am a little obsessive about my carnivorous plants. I absolutely love them. I am pretty new to growing plants -- about 4 years, and it all started with one Nepenthes ventrata. I know many other people here have a lot more experience. I grow carnivorous plants and succulents.

I notice that this forum is a little quiet, and I was hoping to get some discussions going. :) Even if you only keep one or two plants, I would love to hear about it. I need to spend a little time catelogue my plants and then I will post the answers to my own questions.

Could you let me know (you can answer all or 1 or 2 questions -- whatever you like):
1.) Which Carnivorous plants do you grow?

2.) Where did you get your plants?

3.) How long have you been growing them?

4.) What's your favorite?

5.) Do you propagate your plants and what methods do you use?

6.) Do you grow any from seeds?

7.) Anything else you want to tell me? :)

8.) How do you grow them? In trays, in Bogs, inside, outside. . .

I am just nosey and curious. Thanks. :)

Thumbnail by starsplitter7
Click the image for an enlarged view.

starsplitter7
Tampa, FL
(Zone 9b)

June 24, 2009
9:40 PM

Post #6733575

I had to take a look at what I have before I could answer. I am sure I will find more or lose a few, so things change.

Total Plants: 213 (41 Species and 22 hybrids or types)

Sarracenia (American Pitcher Plant) = 48 plants (6 species and 9 hybrids)
4 S. flava (Yellow Pitchers)
2 S. flava (Red Tube)
6 S. purpurea (Purple ssp. Venosa)
2 S. leucophylla (White Top)
1 S. alata (Pale)
2 S. minor (Hooded)
13 S. minor (From seed in 2006)
3 S. psittacina (Parrot)
3 S. “Judith Hindle”
2 S. “Daina’s Delight”
2 S. “Dixie Lace”
3 S. “Scarlette Belle”