Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Southrnbelle
Oxford, MS

July 9, 2009
4:23 AM

Post #6796401

I would like to make a scrapbook for my daughter (she is 25) for Christmas. I have hundreds of photos, newspaper clippings, etc. that I would like to put together for her in a scrapbook but have no idea where to begin. Someone suggested Hobby Lobby as a place to buy supplies. I have never done scrapbooking before. Does anyone have ideas or suggestions that they would share?
cedar18
Lula, GA
(Zone 7b)

July 9, 2009
3:45 PM

Post #6797727

You might try a class at HL or Michaels. Or a local friend or acquaintance that scrapbooks. I bought a lot of stuff in the beginning (before I took a 2 hr class) that I didn't need. I took a class at a small independent SB store, but there aren't many of those any more.

You have to decide on an album size (8x8, 12x12, 8.5 x 11, etc) first. I use 12 x 12 because you can fit more pics on it and have more flexibility in arrangement. I like the kind with clear vinyl sleeves that the page slides into.

There are many choices in adhesives (important to use correct type, acid free, etc.) and you'll need a paper trimmer. They come in different sizes types too. I use a 12" by Fiskars that you slide a cutter down a channel. Easy to use.