Question about Cutting Corn Stalks (by hand)

Blanket, TX(Zone 7b)

Hello everyone,

I asked this in another thread I frequent and they suggested I ask you folks here on Farm Life. :-)

I have a small garden and a patch of field corn in it. The corn has been picked and now I want to let my cornstalks dry so I can tie them into bundles for Autumn decorating in the yard (kind of like sheaves, you know).

Is it easier/better to let them stand in the field til dry or to cut them now and set them aside somewhere to finish drying? Also, do I pull them or cut them? And what is the best thing to cut the stalks with? I have never done this before so I am clueless!

Thanks in advance for all advice :-)

Tina

Deep East Texas, TX(Zone 8a)

Tina ~ as I recall from long ago days on the farm, you can cut them while green with a machete'. When dry I remember them being hard to cut in that manner and pulling would be easier. If you have a limb lopper and a small patch, that would be easier to use.

Waddy, KY

Get yourself a tobacco tommahawk. That should cut any cornstalk that comes in it's path! :-)

I think you'd be better preservation wise to cut them after they've dried. Bundling them green I would think would heat them up and possibly have them rot and smell. Just my opinion though.

Janet

Blanket, TX(Zone 7b)

Podster and Janet, thank you both! I will leave them until dry and tackle them then. I'll try to remember to let you know how it turns out. :-)

Tina

Langley, WA(Zone 7b)

I have many times gone to farms and ask to cut their cornstalks for decorations. I don't remember how dry they were, just that it was in October. This year I planted my own. It's not real hot here (usually, today is an exception, it's sweltering), so I may not get any corn but I'm gonna have mucho stalks for decorating!

Sapello, NM(Zone 5b)