Calling all "judges" for the annual DG County Fair! Vote for your favorites here!

Weed Control in your Iris Beds

Winnsboro, TX

I am always looking for some way to keep the weeds out of my iris and daylily beds. There is an article in the latest AIS book dated July 2009 that may help somewhat. The article is on page 30-31. Of course all you professionals already know about all this stuff.
I'm going to do exactly what all they did and hopefully in a couple of years I will no longer have to hand weed. (grin)

Happy Gardening everyone, and I hope your iris and daylily beds are weed free in the near future.
Marian

Hagerstown, MD(Zone 6a)

Huh? What did "they" suggest?

Roni

Greensboro, NC(Zone 7a)

I'm not a professional so spill it since I don't have access to the AIS book:lol: I had a banner year raising a bumper crop of weeds this year so I would love to hear what "they" suggest!

Lebanon, OR

What I use in the commerical beds is one year Ronstar and the next year

D

Sanford, MI(Zone 5a)

Dee (one year Ronstar and the next ) what is Ronstar and what did you do the next ??? I'm confused as always ;0)
Gloria

Lebanon, OR

Ronstar is a pre emergent 60% than Preen and right now I will have to get the other chemical bottle out and let you know what it is.

One chemical I love is Stinger which here is 138.00 for a quart but you only use one ounce per gallon and you can spray right on the iris to kill such things as clover and thistle.....

You get these at farm co ops where the farmers go to buy their chemicals. We get ours at Wilco farms,

D

Greensboro, NC(Zone 7a)

Do you have to have a license to use any of those chemicals? I work with a lady who farmed tobacco and I know she had to have a special chemical license in order to use some of the stuff needed for her crops.

Sanford, MI(Zone 5a)

thank you Dee I'm not SO confused now I'll have to see if I can find some around here
Gloria

South Hamilton, MA

Iris foilage isn't smoked. Our weeds are very happy.