Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
joy112854
Crestview, FL

July 30, 2009
2:09 AM

Post #6882878

I tried to grow vital spinach the last time and used a whole packet of seeds, not one plant sprouted. So; I was reading where this one person said they buy plugs? Can anyone explain this to me?

I want spinach so badly in my EBs this fall and winter. I'm thinking maybe it was the kind of spinach I tried to grow from seed; there are some few kinds that grow here tyee being one of them, and a few others. Anyways, I am hopeful that I will find spinach startings and beet startings also.

The beets I will grow in a #10 smart pot, and the spinach in my EBs. How many beets can I put into a #10 smart pot?

Any suggestions will be appreciated here folks, I'm new to gardening but really new to this as I have never grown beets or spinach.
joy

Gymgirl

Gymgirl
SE Houston (Hobby), TX
(Zone 9a)

July 30, 2009
5:37 PM

Post #6885308

Joy,
I grew beets from seeds for the first time last fall. I planted my seeds during the Thanksgiving weekend, and they didn't take long to come up at all. This season I'll be sowing the seeds much earlier, the first weekend in October.

The problem (that I caused myself) was in not THINNING them to the proper spacing. This is VERY IMPORTANT TO DO because if you don't, they won't have room to develop a decent-sized root ball. Too crowded = Stunted Growth. THIN IS IN...

Also, because they seem to be a "water" veggie, they shouldn't be allowed to dry out at any point, so make sure you're prepared to keep the soil moist. I sowed my seeds in a very small bed (3.5 x 5 x 10" deep) that was filled with my sifted homemade compost, coffee grinds, Black Kow composted manure, and potting mix. The planting medium was VERY loose, to allow the beets room to grow without fighting tight soil.