Photo by Melody

Winter Sowing: Advice on sowing seeds...I'm a newbie!

Communities > Forums > Winter Sowing
bookmark
Forum: Winter SowingReplies: 5, Views: 137
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
hanseycollie
Cynthia (N. Kansas C, MO
(Zone 5b)

August 17, 2009
12:29 AM

Post #6954506

At the Dollar Tree I bought some large, not deep aluminum roasting pans with high, clear plastic lids. If I punch holes in the top and bottom, I assume they'll work okay? Milk containers are good, as are any type of container with a clear lid? Thanks!

This message was edited Aug 18, 2009 7:08 AM

Thumbnail by hanseycollie
Click the image for an enlarged view.

sandstreet
Kinderhook, NY
(Zone 5b)

August 18, 2009
8:25 PM

Post #6961803

That would work OK, but you might want it deeper for the roots. Sometimes you don't end up planting ASAP and they sit and sit ... :) Just today I threw out the very last milk jug that I never planted. Oh well, overall, it was a huge success for me.

kqcrna
Cincinnati, OH
(Zone 6a)

August 18, 2009
8:49 PM

Post #6961885

I tried the lasagna pans once and didn't like them much. They worked OK, but I don't think you can beat gallon milk jugs. I also use some 1/2 gallon ones and 2 liter pop bottles for things where I don't wan't too many plants.

Welcome, hanseycollie. Pretty dog! I love collies.

Karen
hanseycollie
Cynthia (N. Kansas C, MO
(Zone 5b)

August 18, 2009
9:19 PM

Post #6961991

Good to know! I'll just start having my friends save their milk jugs and won't invest in the others. Thanks for the compliment on Han - he's a great collie! He's a nursing home therapy dog in his spare time, ha!

Thumbnail by hanseycollie
Click the image for an enlarged view.

echinaceamaniac
(Clint) Medina, TN
(Zone 7b)

August 20, 2009
7:10 PM

Post #6969225