Photo by Melody
Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.

Garden Talk: Mexican Petunias?Invasive

Communities > Forums > Garden Talk
bookmark
Forum: Garden TalkReplies: 8, Views: 121
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Jonniefish
North Fort Myers, FL

August 20, 2009
3:05 AM

Post #6967098

I'm relatively new to gardening and attempting to create a reasonably low maintainece garden for my folks in SW Fla.There is an area that is cutoff from any other plants on the NW corner of the property that Mexican Petunias would fit perfectly.From what I've read they require little in the way of daily care and I'll be able to cut them back on the days I'm there.My concern is I've also read they are on an invasive species list.Not quite sure how to proceed ???Any help would be much appreciated.Thanks
Zuzu
Sebastopol, CA
(Zone 9a)

August 20, 2009
3:23 AM

Post #6967150

I'm assuming Mexican petunias are Ruellia brittoniana. Is that right? I think if you're near any wetlands they might cause problems there. Birds and the wind might carry the seeds to vulnerable locations. I can hardly keep them alive here, but I'm in a very dry climate.
BlissfulGarden
Baton Rouge, LA

August 20, 2009
3:30 AM

Post #6967166