smocking

Huron, OH(Zone 5b)

Does anyone do any smocking? I used to do dresses for DD. She is now 17 and wouldn't appreciate it anymore. I still have alot of patterns.

Mequon, WI(Zone 4b)

I still do smocking! Here are two of my projects:

http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/t/773207/

http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/t/813800/

Huron, OH(Zone 5b)

Those are cool. I like the fishes. Thanks for the posts.

Yorkshire,

Oh my!! Jeannie those are beautiful and so nicely smocked. I fear I'll never be quite that good.

Jumper2 I'm just learning how to smock after seeing some rather pretty Christmas balls made using polestyrene balls and smocked bands. I bought a smocking pleater and really enjoy practicing. I had no idea you could actually get patterns for smocking. I thought people were really clever and just made the designs up as they smocked. In fact I just bought a book of square graph paper so that I could make some designs for this years smocked balls.
I have some pictures of the balls I made last year somewhere and will post one if I remember (but you all must promise not to laugh) LOL

Thanks for the original post Jumper2 it was great to hear there are others out there that smock.

Terri

Huron, OH(Zone 5b)

I have patterns for balls and eggs. They are really cool. I even have one for smocking on the top edge of stockings.

Mequon, WI(Zone 4b)

Thanks Terri - you just have to keep practising!

Yorkshire,

Jumper2, what a lovely idea! I would never thought to use smocking for the top of a stocking. Would you share with me where you bought the patterns as I would love to get some and doing an online search didn't give me much info. Do you have any pictures of your smocking?

Thanks Jeannie63, the finished articles are so pretty that even with the little mistakes everyone admires them... worth keeeping practicing I think :)

Terri

Mequon, WI(Zone 4b)

Oh, believe me, mine are full of mistakes!

(Barb) Manchester, NH(Zone 5a)