Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Ferns, Fungi and Mosses: Mushroom ID... several crazy-looking ones!

Communities > Forums > Ferns, Fungi and Mosses
bookmark
Forum: Ferns, Fungi and MossesReplies: 12, Views: 100
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
MrsJohnnyG
Dallas, GA

September 3, 2009
1:35 AM

Post #7019192

Hi, everyone! I'm new to the fern/fungi forum but today as I was walking around in the wooded part of our property, I was astonished to see so many colorful mushrooms. I'm not quite sure why so many variations would pop up in such a small area, other than it's sort of a forest floor setting so it's obviously fungi-friendly.

Any ideas on what any of these are? I'm only posting a few of at least a dozen wildly different-looking mushrooms. I'm curious to know what they are, but more importantly, am wondering how many of these could be poisonous... I have three curious pups who have free run of the property, and I cringe to think of them eating one of these enticing-looking things.

Thumbnail by MrsJohnnyG
Click the image for an enlarged view.

MrsJohnnyG
Dallas, GA

September 3, 2009
1:37 AM

Post #7019203

This one was quite blue... I kicked this one over because it looked like a doughnut-shaped piece of blue styrofoam or something, but nope, it was another fungus.

Thumbnail by MrsJohnnyG

MrsJohnnyG
Dallas, GA

September 3, 2009
1:38 AM

Post #7019208

Another one...

Thumbnail by MrsJohnnyG

MrsJohnnyG
Dallas, GA

September 3, 2009
1:40 AM

Post #7019214

Yet another... sorry for the photo overload, but they're all so different-looking!

Thumbnail by MrsJohnnyG

MrsJohnnyG
Dallas, GA

September 3, 2009
1:51 AM

Post #7019268

I'll stop now... thanks for bearing with my crazy 'shrooms! Would love any ideas as to what these could be...