Photo by Melody
Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.

Saving Seeds: Seeds from Scabiosa Blackamoor

Communities > Forums > Saving Seeds
bookmark
Forum: Saving SeedsReplies: 5, Views: 29
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
mom2goldens
Carmel, IN
(Zone 5b)

September 11, 2009
11:42 PM

Post #7052981

This is an heirloom variety I grew this year...it was very successful in my garden, and I absolutely loved the dark blossoms. However, I've tried several times to find the seeds on the dried blossoms, and have had no luck. I've tried gathering the heads earlier, later, etc. I still have a few seeds left from this spring, so I know what they look like. Any suggestions? I'm rather new to the whole seed saving thing, and this one has really stumped me.
gemini_sage
Winchester, KY
(Zone 6a)

September 20, 2009
2:48 PM

Post #7083977

This is my first year growing Scabiosa (mine are creamy yellow), and they've done very well for me too- easy and not fussy at all. They were from saved seed from a seed swap. Being and heirloom, I think there's a good chance yours will come true from saved seed. I've been gathering seed from these by allowing the heads to turn brown on the plants, then cutting them and allowing them to dry in paper bags. I crushed some heads (they kinda look like little pine cones) that were dry, and it looked like the seeds I planted, so I think it will work.
mom2goldens
Carmel, IN
(Zone 5b)

September 20, 2009
3:12 PM

Post #7084044