Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Cooking: Southern fried Chicken!

Communities > Forums > Cooking
bookmark
Forum: CookingReplies: 18, Views: 260
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
NEILMUIR1
London
United Kingdom

September 12, 2009
2:08 PM

Post #7054910

Has anyone got a simple recipe fro southern fried Chicken!
My Nieces adore it but I do not want them having take away rubbish.
Their must be a way of making it?
I am a good cook, and they love English food.
They have been brainwashed into Kentucky fried Chicken shops, not by me!
Regards from England.
Neil.
planolinda
Plano, TX

September 13, 2009
3:49 PM

Post #7058899

you won't like this answer but chicken fried steak is one of those foods best found in a good diner--not sure why but that is what i find to be true--
of course finding a diner for chicken fried steak in london might be difficult :)
NEILMUIR1
London
United Kingdom

September 13, 2009
7:04 PM

Post #7059501

I do not mind an answer, it is better than getting none!
Whilst serving in the British Army we went to Canada, there we got two weeks local leave, so we went into America.
We mostly eat in diners, although they give you too much food, which we are not used to.
Massive portions are not the English way, nobody needs that much food.
I weighed 140 pounds when I went in the Army at 6 foot two and a half, I still weigh the same.
The problem is the Kentucky fried chicken shops over here are quite frankly disgusting.
The chicken is soaking in fat, it drips off, even making the box soaked!
So I will not allow my nieces it, as I consider it to be abhorrent!
It is also the same with the pizzas, they are just as bad, an expensive load of rubbish!