Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Vegetable Gardening: Saving zucchini seeds?

Communities > Forums > Vegetable Gardening
bookmark
Forum: Vegetable GardeningReplies: 40, Views: 394
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
tucsonjill
Lincoln, NE
(Zone 5a)

October 11, 2009
11:41 PM

Post #7159054

I have an old packet of cocozelle zucchini seeds that I've been planting from for the last several years. We really like the flavor and it seems to do pretty well for me. I'm about out of the seeds, and they're getting old anyway, so I thought I would try to save some from this year's crop. None of my other curcurbits made it this year, so the good news is I know there's no danger of cross-pollination and my seeds should come true to type.

Can anyone give me any pointers on seed saving for these guys? Do I need to let them get really big and old, or can I save the seeds from the eatin' size zukes?

Thanks!

Thumbnail by tucsonjill
Click the image for an enlarged view.

Farmerdill
Augusta, GA
(Zone 8a)

October 12, 2009
12:18 AM

Post #7159201

Let them fully mature and change color, split , remove seeds, clean, dry and store.
tucsonjill
Lincoln, NE
(Zone 5a)

October 12, 2009
12:42 AM

Post #7159298

Thanks, Farmerdill! Sounds like I can manage that. Will they split on their own, or do I pick them and use a knife once they've changed color--I assume they get yellow?
Farmerdill
Augusta, GA
(Zone 8a)

October 12, 2009
12:45 AM

Post #7159309

Treat them just like a pumpkin/winter squash. Cut open the ripe ones , and scrape out the seeds. As long the seeds are fully grown, they will be fine.
tucsonjill
Lincoln, NE
(Zone 5a)

October 12, 2009
1:08 AM

Post #7159372

Okay--thanks!
patgeorge
Nurmo
Finland
(Zone 4b)

October 13, 2009
6:15 PM

Post #7165223