Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Water Gardens: wanted: lotus seeds or plants

Communities > Forums > Water Gardens
bookmark
Forum: Water GardensReplies: 4, Views: 583
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
mr_bill
Southlake, TX
(Zone 8a)

February 21, 2001
8:44 PM

Post #1589

I am new to ponding and have a pond with NO plants. I have some water lilies, anacris, parrots feather and horsetail reed on order and have heard many people talk about lotus. I know it is a flower but what is this plant like? Is it difficult to grow?

Does anyone have lotus seeds for trade or SASE? I have some Texas Star Hibiscus seeds listed on my trade page with a picture if anyone is interested.

Thanks,
mr_bill
branka
Hobart, IN
(Zone 5a)

February 22, 2001
5:14 AM

Post #53600

mr_bill, I am trying lotus myself for the first time this year. I ordered a Mrs. Perry D. Slocum tuber. I've read that if you start lotus from seed, you should not expect blooms until the 3rd year. That's too long for me to wait!

The lotus that I ordered is a large variety so I will put it in it's own bog. I guess that they will take over a pond quickly. I noticed several small varieties that can be grown in patio containers.

I purchased some lotus seed pods at the craft store that I am going to experiment with just for the heck of it. I picked up a couple of large tubs that I'll use. I have no clue as to the variety but was told by a grower that they (craft store seeds) are often from China and could be a Chinese mixed lotus. If they ever amount to anything, it will be interesting to see if they are identifiable.
deen_20
Hilo, HI

February 28, 2001
3:11 AM

Post #54745

I have started many lotus from seed. It is possible to get flowering during the first year if you time it correctly for the weather in your area.
jeanjanes
Lacon, IL
(Zone 5a)

April 8, 2001
1:34 AM