Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Article: Watching gourds dry: hurry up and wait: Mine Never Came Up This Year

Communities > Forums > Article: Watching gourds dry: hurry up and wait
bookmark
Forum: Article: Watching gourds dry: hurry up and waitReplies: 2, Views: 17
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Igrowinpa
Beaver Falls, PA
(Zone 6a)

November 23, 2009
2:58 AM

Post #7301585

I'm a decorative painter, as well as a gardener, and I planted a few seeds of two different gourds this spring - a mini bottle gourd and bird house shape type of gourd. I was disappointed when neither one came up. We had placed some fencing near the area where we planted them so that they could climb the fence during the growing season. A local friend told me that during the time I planted the seeds, we had a lot of rainy days, and she felt that my gourd seeds could have rotted in the ground. I will be trying them again next year, and perhaps will start my seeds in pots, to transplant to where I want them.

Thanks for the nice article TC.
Linda
Liquidambar2
Mount Vernon, KY

November 23, 2009
6:59 PM

Post #7302983

Igrowinpa
I too use to have trouble with gourd seeds. Especially if I tried to start them inside. Some little farm girl selling crafted gourds at a craft fair was surprised when I said this and told me they came up for her like beans.