Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Winter Sowing: Green pop bottles - toss or use?

Communities > Forums > Winter Sowing
bookmark
Forum: Winter SowingReplies: 8, Views: 130
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
hanseycollie
Cynthia (N. Kansas C, MO
(Zone 5b)

November 25, 2009
8:10 PM

Post #7309397

I am working on my containers for January/February. Can I use the green pop bottles or shall I toss them and stick with clear ones? It's my first year so I want every advantage! :^) Thanks! Cynthia (Newbie)

This message was edited Nov 25, 2009 3:58 PM

Thumbnail by hanseycollie
Click the image for an enlarged view.

kqcrna
Cincinnati, OH
(Zone 6a)

November 25, 2009
9:57 PM

Post #7309676

Cynthia, the green pop bottles work just fine.

Trudi's "rule of thumb"= if you can see your thumb through the container, it's clear enough. I use mostly milk jugs, which aren't really clear, but plenty of light passes through.

Karen
hanseycollie
Cynthia (N. Kansas C, MO
(Zone 5b)

November 25, 2009
10:02 PM

Post #7309692

Wonderful, Karen! I thought I'd read somewhere to use only the clear ones, but the green are as clear as the milk jugs are. My husband is a Diet Mt. Dew fan, so I have tons of green. For some reason, he doesn't want to drink another soda until I'm finished winter sowing, LOL. I think I'll also like the gallon jugs the best.

I keep hoping I'm not the only person in the world that WS won't work for. ~grins~ Thanks - I'll keep on now with my carton preparation! I'm planning for about 100-150 jugs since my gardens are all new, and I've promised flowers to tons of friends.
kqcrna
Cincinnati, OH
(Zone 6a)

November 26, 2009
3:20 AM

Post #7310589

Don't worry. If you just follow the basics it will work great.

Important steps IMO