Name that Hoya (Just for Fun!)

Waterville, VT(Zone 4b)

I thought it might be fun for people to guess the name of this Hoya. I took the picture this morning, and thought it had a kind of interesting form. I've had it for 2-3 years, and it has never flowered, but I don't hold that against it. Guess away - with all the Hoya experts here, I don't think it will take too long for the answer to appear.

Doug

Thumbnail by Hoya_24
(Zone 1)

I am not good at guessing, especially Hoyas when there are hundreds I've never seen or heard of. ^_^ But, after looking through 5 pages of Hoyas in PF (Ok, I know that's cheating but I'm probably still wrong!) I will take a wild guess ... is it H. cembra/odorata?

Waterville, VT(Zone 4b)

Sorry Lin! A very good guess though!

Doug

(Zone 1)

LOL, I'm probably way off with this guess too ... what about bella?

(Zone 1)

Or ... plicata?

Ok, isn't anyone else here? C'mon folks, I know some of you Hoyaites know which one it is!

Waterville, VT(Zone 4b)

Lin, those were good guesses too, but not quite right.

(Zone 1)

^_^

Ok ... going googling again! Can you tell I am a curious gal? Especially when it comes to plants!

(Zone 1)

blashernaezii ... or however that one is spelled?

Whitby, ON(Zone 5b)

H. paucifolia? But the leaves on mine aren't as dark... so probably not. Lemme go and look at some more...

Keaau, HI(Zone 11)

H. tsangii?...that was H. odetteae before?

Whitby, ON(Zone 5b)

That would have my next guess, if mine had grown enough to see a pattern...lol...

(Zone 1)

I thought tsangii was the DS-70?

Keaau, HI(Zone 11)

It was once... DL determined that the former H. odetteae is really H. tsangii. Christine Burton made a mistake...that is what DS-70 went back to DS-70.

OH...and guess who I heard from? David Silverman (DS) ... this is going to start some interesting conversations.

Speaking of Ms. Burton...has anything been heard from or of her?

Waterville, VT(Zone 4b)