Photo by Melody
Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.

Gladiolus : G. communis sp byzantinus planting depth; vole protection

Communities > Forums > Gladiolus
bookmark
Forum: Gladiolus Replies: 3, Views: 45
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
zonkel
Florence, MS
(Zone 7b)

December 30, 2009
3:53 PM

Post #7409646

I bought some Gladiolus communis sp. byzantinus on sale. This is my first time trying to grow glads; the depth to plant is listed as 6-10" deep, spacing varies 3-5". What would be the best depth for a silty clay loam with a fragipan at about 10 inches; should I plant them a bit shallower since the clay should keep the stalks more upright than a sandier soil?

I also have voles. Are the corms particularly tasty to voles? If so, what would be options on protection? I already have 2 cats and snakes from the woods working on the problem and don't want to poison them. My property is bordering woods so total eradication is not likely.

Thanks,
Susan in Jackson Mississippi
zone 8/7b
BirdieBlue
Winston Salem, NC
(Zone 7a)

June 18, 2010
7:18 AM

Post #7899063

I just saw your post and had hoped to see some answers.
Can't believe not a single person picked up on this.
I don't know about the depth, etc. I purchased some last year, but then never planted them because the voles are so bad in my yard. I made the mistake of killing 2 rather large black snakes (after they each got Bluebird nestlings). They had probably been keeping the voles in check and I hate that I did that. I'm on who tells others not to kil black snakes. my love for those Bluebirds just made be freak though.
Hope your glads did well!

Sheri
zonkel
Florence, MS
(Zone 7b)

June 18, 2010
7:36 AM

Post #7899108

Hi Sheri!

I completely understand about killing the snakes after losing bluebirds!