Photo by Melody

Pottery, Clay and Ceramics: Can anyone tell me what causes bubbles in my glaze?

Communities > Forums > Pottery, Clay and Ceramics
bookmark
Forum: Pottery, Clay and CeramicsReplies: 38, Views: 168
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
bittsen
Portland, OR

December 31, 2009
10:23 AM

Post #7412589

I am a ceramics newbie and my first glaze left lots of bubbles on some of the pieces.
I fired 25 identical (for the most part) pieces and the pieces varied from zero bubbles to one piece with a dozen or so.
Could it be that I didn't fire the bisque hot enough? Or is the temperature for the glaze all wrong. The bottle said to fire the glaze to cone 06 but all I had was 07 cones. I also fired the bisque to 07 (but I do have 03 cones for that)
Using a kiln sitter so the cones are sitter cones.
I don't have any witness cones.

P.S. This was my very first time with clay and glaze so I'm not too surprised that I am having problems.

Also, is there a more active ceramics forum out there somewhere?

Thanks
zenpotter
Minneapolis, MN
(Zone 4b)

December 31, 2009
12:53 PM

Post #7412713

Welcome to the group. If there is a more active group I haven't found it. We are getting new members slowly, but since the forum is relative new it takes a while to build up.

Bubbles- there may be a contaminate in the glaze, there may have been dust on the pieces (make sure to rub the work with a damp sponge to get any dust off.), the glaze may not have been well enough mixed, I have experienced the problem with too high heat but not to low. You should get some 06 cones and dust the next pieces off to check it again. Try some other glazes at the same time to see what results you get.

Did you find the the pieces in one area of the kiln had more bubbles and in another? I wouldn't think the firing of the bisque would be the problem. I usually bisque at 06.

lourspolaire

lourspolaire
Delray Beach, FL
(Zone 10a)

December 31, 2009
2:42 PM

Post #7412955