-
AuthorContent
margaran
(Maggie) Jacksonvill, FL
(Zone 9a)

January 1, 2010
7:28 PM

Post #7417099

When do y'all start your tomato seeds? I have heat mats, lights, & racks.

Thanks

Maggie
ApopkaJohn
Apopka, FL
(Zone 10a)

January 1, 2010
9:46 PM

Post #7417522

I buy cherry tomatoes at the grocery store, and if I find one I like, just squish it and throw it ontop of a good pot of soil and wait a couple weeks. Cherry and grape tomatoes will tolerate the summer heat and humidity here, and they are indeterminate, so they keep going and going til the fungus gets them. I know it's cooler up where you live. Orlando can get freezes all the way through February. If you start them indoors they need lots of light or they'le stretch. Please share pics of the progress you make. Most of us green thumbs like watching the drama of a plant's life cycle.
KayJones
Panama City Beach, FL
(Zone 8b)

January 1, 2010
10:02 PM

Post #7417561

I'm new to Florida, but started my seeds the 2nd of January last year - everything did well and grew into lush plants by mid-summer. I only started the Florida native tomato seeds (the rest were annual vines).
margaran
(Maggie) Jacksonvill, FL
(Zone 9a)

January 3, 2010
1:00 PM

Post #7422458

Hi,

Thanks for the feedback. I did not get a chance to start them yesterday as I & hubby were moving plants. I ordered heirloom tomato seeds last year and still have plenty left I'll try again.

Thanks,

Maggie
gardenglory
Gainesville, FL
(Zone 9a)

January 3, 2010
3:52 PM

Post #7422966

Just got mine planted this weekend as well. Peppers too.
Pillita
Keystone Heights, FL
(Zone 8b)

January 4, 2010
4:45 PM

Post #7426784

I was going to start mine at the end of the month. According to the DG frost date calculator, my last average frost date is March 6, but based on my experiences living in this part of Florida, we usually have frosts after that. When do you plan to set your tomato plants out? I hate the idea of having to try to cover foot tall young plants.