Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Needle Arts: Teach yourself to knit?

Communities > Forums > Needle Arts
bookmark
Forum: Needle ArtsReplies: 26, Views: 252
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
anastatia
Vancouver, WA
(Zone 8a)

January 15, 2010
11:18 PM

Post #7465373

As a child I knitted little squares but now @ 61 yrs ready to p/u the needles again. I have #10 needles and some yarn. Any of you self taught?
hbt1290
New Port Richey, FL

January 16, 2010
4:36 PM

Post #7467159

I am, basically. I have some vague memory of some older woman showing me how to cast on, but no one in the family was a knitter, so I picked it up trial and error from pattern leaflets. Years ago I did the fancy lace stockings, Aran Islands and Intarsia. Over time, I got bored with knitting and obsessed with counted cross stitch art patterns, but as I recall, with a little bit of trial and error, and a leaflet with good diagrams and pictures, knitting wasn't hard to figure out. Good luck.

Helen

ViolaAnn

ViolaAnn
Ottawa, ON
(Zone 5a)

January 16, 2010
4:50 PM

Post #7467182

I'm self taught, though in my first year of university a neighbour took me aside and made me relearn to knit Continental style. Much easier to learn these days as there are both written instructions and some very good videos on the Internet. You'll find them if you Google "learn to knit" or "how to knit".
anastatia
Vancouver, WA
(Zone 8a)

January 16, 2010
6:45 PM

Post #7467541

I assume most knitters, here anyway, knit continental style.

ViolaAnn

ViolaAnn
Ottawa, ON
(Zone 5a)

January 16, 2010
7:24 PM

Post #7467634

I've actually seen very few in the US (where I grew up) or Canada who knit continental style.
anastatia
Vancouver, WA
(Zone 8a)

January 16, 2010
10:00 PM

Post #7468036