Ideas for flavoring yogurt

Radford, VA(Zone 7a)

I've been making my own 'crock pot yogurt' for several months now and thought I'd pass on some flavoring ideas that have worked well for me.

My favorite is to add 1 package of Land O'Lakes Mocha flavored hot cocoa to 1 qt. of plain yogurt. The Chocolate Raspberry & Hazelnut flavors work well too.

Another thing I've been making is flavored sugars:

1 t. extract or flavor per 1 C white sugar
(I like to add food coloring too)

(Since yogurt is always a bit tart, lemon and orange flavors are particularly well suited!)

Then it's a simple matter to use flavored sugar, instead of plain sugar, in the recipe.

(If you're using plain store-bought yogurt, 1 teaspoon of any extract, per quart of yogurt, works well.)

You can always use the flavored sugars in other recipes too. If you're like me, and just love maple flavor--it's really simple to make maple flavored sugar cookies, etc.!

springfield area, MO(Zone 5b)

I like to put my yogurt in the blender with some fruit, ice cream if I have it, a little milk or juice, you could add cinnamon or flavor extracts too.
I drink it through a straw like a shake.

You could also add chocolate syrup, nuts coconut, choc chips, crushed cookies, or pretzels or candy bars or whatever else on top of your yogurt. My kids would eat it when they were little if I put colored sprinkles on top or sliced bananas.

Vanilla yogurt is good on warm pie, brownies or mixed with whip cream or pudding and spread on cake.

Fairfield County, CT(Zone 6b)

I make little yogurt cups to take in my lunch for work using a teaspoonfull of jam or apple butter or whatever sweet fruity thing I have on hand. The little plastic 1/2 cup size containers are perfect for this and wash in the dishwasher with the lids clothes pinned to the rack (otherwise they fly around and die on the heating coils). A whole week of servings costs me about as much as two of those store bought yogurt sundaes.

Irvine, KY(Zone 6a)