Photo by Melody

Seed Germination: Newbie-LED light info?

Communities > Forums > Seed Germination
bookmark
Forum: Seed GerminationReplies: 29, Views: 380
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
clpgirl
Chippewa Lake, OH
(Zone 5b)

January 28, 2010
1:51 AM

Post #7503741

I'm a newbie to seed-starting and am trying to find info re: LED lights vs. 'older' grow lights. Don't want to ask re-run questions if there is already a link/thread about this, but I sure can't find any with the change in search engine! Any info welcomej, and/or any leads toward other chats. Thanks SO much!
ultimateshopper
Tulsa, OK

February 1, 2010
11:07 PM

Post #7519924

Sorry clpgirl - I don't recall seeing anything on LED lights - typically it's the florescent lights that are used. Would be interesting to know though...
joannabanana
Calgary, AB
(Zone 3a)

February 2, 2010
12:13 AM

Post #7520138

I was curious too if LED's would work. There are recommendations when using florescent bulbs to do half in Cool bulbs (blue light) and half in Warm bulbs (red light) to give a fuller spectrum of light for seed starting & seedling growth.

So I googled LED spectrum of light to see what came up. It would appear that you would need to use a combination of Red LED's & Blue LED's as grow lights. I looks like the white LED's would not be recommended for grow lights. LED's do not produce heat, so that is one benefit and of course there is way less power consumption .

Here's a web site that has LED's specific for growing. Quite pricey$$$$.
http://ultraledlights.com/
clpgirl
Chippewa Lake, OH
(Zone 5b)

February 2, 2010
12:55 AM

Post #7520281

Thanks so much for the info...Looks like I'll be going 'traditional' for this year at least, seems like a good idea to wait until they have a better track record, and less $$...
trc65
Galesburg, IL

February 2, 2010
1:45 AM

Post #7520439