-
AuthorContent
Amos55
Lake, MI

February 10, 2010
7:12 PM

Post #7548385

Hi everyone,

I am new to this WSing and I am looking forward to trying it this year.

I wanted to add a suggestion for other new Winter Sowers for your containers.When I first found out about WS I thought to myself what am I going to do about containers? How on earth am I going to gather enough to get started.

I went to the local recycle center site in my area and hit pay dirt. They had clean containers off all sizes shapes. I got clear water jugs, five gallon ice cream buckets with handles(clear ones) and nice clear large salad containers with high tops that clamp down. I was like a kid in a candy store.

I hope this may help other newbees to WS

I just got my seeds from Jungs today and I am itching to get started. I think it is still a little to soon in my area zone 5. Is there anything I can start right now?

Amos

tcs1366

tcs1366
Itasca,IL&Lk Delton, WI
(Zone 5a)

February 10, 2010
9:45 PM

Post #7548785

Amos -- isn't it fun when you find great containers?

I love those ice cream buckets with handles. I have one somewhere, but the lid is missing i think.

you can start perennials now.

Terese
Frank65
Hallowell, ME

February 11, 2010
8:56 PM

Post #7551706

I'm new this year too but I'm using the milk jugs for now. I too went to the recycle place and hit pay dirt with the milk jugs. I didn't look for anything else but next time I'm in there I will. I just finished planting some perennials today and set them out. I'm really anxious about how successful I'll be. I'm zone 5. I usually start my veggies and flowers indoors the lst of April using heat mats and flourescent lights. I'm doing some for a friend too so I'll have to buy another heat mat.
edgeoftheworld
Conneaut, OH
(Zone 5a)

February 11, 2010
11:02 PM

Post #7552045