Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Cameras and Photography: Close-Up Lenses

Communities > Forums > Cameras and Photography
bookmark
Forum: Cameras and PhotographyReplies: 13, Views: 220
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
GardenSox
Sacramento, CA
(Zone 9a)

February 18, 2010
11:51 PM

Post #7570368

I'm fairly new to DSLRs and I just purchased a 55-250mm zoom lens for my Canon Rebel XSi. While reading through the product manual (I know, I can't believe anyone reads these manuals either) I came across a short blurb that said I could attach a close-up lens to my zoom lens that would allow me to photograph close-up objects.

I have several questions about this:
1. Do the close-up lenses really work? They don't look much different than the filters you attach to a lens and I don't understand how a simple looking piece of glass can change a zoom lens to a macro lens.
2. How exactly does it work, anyway?
3. For about $75 on Amazon, the close-up lens seems more economical than a new macro lens, but will a macro lens provide better performance per dollar in the long run?

Any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated.
Zen_Man
Ottawa, KS
(Zone 5b)

February 19, 2010
5:16 AM

Post #7570945

GardenSox,

Close-up lenses really do work. You are right, they simply screw into the filter threads of your existing lens, much like a filter. A macro lens can provide higher quality close-ups, but for a lot of applications, a simple screw-on close-up lens is good enough. Incidentally, $75 seems rather high for a simple close-up lens, unless it is a multi-element achromatic close-up. What diameter are the screw threads on your Canon lens?

ZM
hcmcdole
Powder Springs, GA
(Zone 7b)

February 19, 2010
12:13 PM

Post #7571174