Photo by Melody
Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.

Orchid Cactus: tea and coffee for orchid cactus

Communities > Forums > Orchid Cactus
bookmark
Forum: Orchid CactusReplies: 11, Views: 169
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
acts238
Fort Wayne, IN

March 4, 2010
2:00 AM

Post #7603690

Is tea and coffee grounds good for orchid cactus planting medium, I'm new at this and am lookng forward to collecting a few of these beauties.
juliep127
Louisville, KY

March 5, 2010
6:42 PM

Post #7607518

I would love to know that answer. I know they are for roses, but for epis...don't know. Maybe if we wait long enough someone will answer. :)
JeanK
Deland, FL & Hot Spr, AR

March 6, 2010
7:07 AM

Post #7608309

Don't know about the tea and coffee, however, I feed mine banana peels. Last year, I had four flushes, and I was overwhelmed with their beauty and fragrance. They are too big to take outside, so they stay in the sunroom year round.

Thumbnail by JeanK
Click the image for an enlarged view.

acts238
Fort Wayne, IN

March 6, 2010
10:58 AM

Post #7608683

JeanK What beautiful flowers, I'm looking forward to the couple that I've gotten to bloom. I had one years ago and I remember it blooming a deep red, it was gorgeous, I don't remember what happened to it though but when I saw them again this year I knew I had to grow some again. I am curious about the tea and coffee grounds and I hope there is someone out there that knows. I use them on my blueberry plants for the acid they give the soil.
acts238
Fort Wayne, IN

March 7, 2010
5:48 AM

Post #7610325

How do you feed them banana peels? Mine will be inside plants in my sunroom also.
JeanK
Deland, FL & Hot Spr, AR

March 7, 2010
2:48 PM

Post #7611457