-
AuthorContent
PedricksCorner
Freedom, CA
(Zone 9b)

April 2, 2010
3:29 PM

Post #7675042

Here is my little indoor bonsai 'Amber Rose.' I am twining two trunks around each other as they grow. And you can see the curl of wire I am using to support the trunk until it thickens. There is also a short piece of bamboo holding up the one end. And the bit of grass you see in the corner has a very, very fine blade which will lend itself well to being kept short.

Thumbnail by PedricksCorner
Click the image for an enlarged view.

PedricksCorner
Freedom, CA
(Zone 9b)

April 12, 2010
9:35 AM

Post #7699616

Yesterday it was hailing here, so I brought the three original bonsai efforts inside and did some pruning and wiring. Now, remember, I have never done this before. So this is a learning experience for me. You are welcome to chim in and give me direction, or participate with an effort of your own. Here is F. magellanica molinae

PedricksCorner
Freedom, CA
(Zone 9b)

April 12, 2010
9:38 AM

Post #7699628

I'd also like to mention that I intend to "think outside the box" in this experience. In other words, I am going to follow personal inspiration in my forms instead of traditional forms. Here is 'Vinegar Joe' after his first cut. Remember, this is a process and they do not look anything like they will when "finished." Are bonsai ever really "finished?"

PedricksCorner
Freedom, CA
(Zone 9b)

April 12, 2010
9:43 AM

Post #7699641

If you look at the original bonsai fuchsia thread, you'll note how big these guys got from their original size last October. And I have to confess that using 'Preston Guild', my personal favorite, was probably a mistake. It is going to need a very large bonsai pot when it is time to wire the root ball and transplant him.