Photo by Melody

Beginner Vegetables: What depth should I plant okra seedlings in soil?

Communities > Forums > Beginner Vegetables
bookmark
Forum: Beginner VegetablesReplies: 30, Views: 182
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
drvsvs
Lawrenceville, GA

April 20, 2010
10:10 PM

Post #7723035

Greetings,

Thanks again to those who responded to my questions on the fungus in the jiffy peat pellets in a previous thread. The okra seedlings that I've planted in the peat pellets are very strong and growing fast. I must now transplant them into some soil. This is my first time growing okra, and therefore need to know some basics:

1) What depth should I plant the seedlings? They've grown very quickly and are 3-4 inches tall, and have not grown their first true leaves. Their roots are sprouting out the bottom of the pellets, however, so I think it's best to put them in some pots.

2) What mixture of soil should I use in the pots?

Thanks.
lizardbreath
Boise City, OK
(Zone 6a)

April 21, 2010
8:45 AM

Post #7724032

I am not sure about your area but we always just direct sow okra in the ground. I have never started it in pots but would think if you originally planted the seed according to depth directions on packets then just put your peat pellets in the ground or pots to the depth they are growing now. I know you can plant tomatoes deeper because they grow roots all along the stem but not sure if that would work for okra.
The whole soil mixture thing is a real problem for me too. I never seem to do too well starting seeds so it is just easier for me to plant directly even if it costs me a couple of weeks.
Hopefully someone with more experience will have some great ideas.

Gymgirl

Gymgirl
SE Houston (Hobby), TX
(Zone 9a)

April 22, 2010
10:46 AM

Post #7727385

DRVSVS,
I've got okra inside, too, same scenario as you, and I'm planting out this weekend in my eBuckets.