Photo by Melody

Container Gardening: Suspending Miniature Melons Using Nets...?

Communities > Forums > Container Gardening
bookmark
Forum: Container GardeningReplies: 20, Views: 201
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Mrdonald1
Savannah, GA

April 29, 2010
2:05 AM

Post #7747453

Has anyone in this forum ever suspended container-grown melons by using netting or pantyhose? I cannot recall where, but I read about suspending Miniature Melons by using nets to keep melons from laying on the ground. This is my first year at this and I could use some sage advice.
pirl
(Arlene) Southold, NY
(Zone 7a)

April 29, 2010
6:21 AM

Post #7747775

You can do it with either netting or pantyhose, whichever appeals to you the most. I've done it with netting and hoisted them to my scarecrow, who is decidedly female. When I wasn't paying attention the vines scrambled over to the mesh netting used to keep the crows out of the vegetable garden and away from the tomatoes and they grew on top of the mesh.

Thumbnail by pirl
Click the image for an enlarged view.

Mrdonald1
Savannah, GA

April 30, 2010
7:50 PM

Post #7752915

Pirl...I LOVE your scarecrow! And yes, she is decidedly female. Do scarecrow really work? I was city-born-and-bred and have only associated scarecrows with the Wizard of Oz. Being kinda 21st century geeky, I have suspended a series of DVD disks glued back-to-back in and around my garden to deter the birds.. The itty bittiest breeze causes them to rotate with bright flashes of color and light. I've been told that birds think they are the large eyes from birds of prey, like owls. The gambit appears appears to be working. The Mockingbirds, Sparrows, and Blackbirds have glided within 3' over the garden, but none of landed yet. If they do, I might ask for some scarecrow advice.