Photo by Melody

Article: More Wascally Winter Weeds! Henbit, Purple Deadnettle, and Chickweed: Chickweed is yummy!

Communities > Forums > Article: More Wascally Winter Weeds! Henbit, Purple Deadnettle, and Chickweed
bookmark
Forum: Article: More Wascally Winter Weeds! Henbit, Purple Deadnettle, and ChickweedReplies: 5, Views: 23
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
herbette
Arnprior
Canada

May 2, 2010
8:19 PM

Post #7758752

Toni, I started studying herbs in 1977 and have both attended and taught countless classes since then. Chickweed can be chopped and used in a salad the way that lettuce would be. It can also be used to make a delicious vegetable broth. Saute a little chopped onion and garlic in some olive oil (the amounts don't really matter, it depends on your palate). Add a couple of quarts of water and LOTS of chopped up Chickweed. Bring to a boil, and immediately turn it down on low and let it gently simmer for at least 20 minutes. Strain, discarding the pulp and use the broth as a soup base. It's reminiscent of chicken soup. I usually only use it fresh as some of its qualities disappear when it's dried. Fresh tea can be strained into a bath to help alleviate various skin irritations, or a salve can be made by infusing the fresh washed whole plant in olive oil for 2 hours at a very low (NOT bubbling or boiling) temperature. Again, strain out the pulp and then add some grated beeswax (one ounce of beeswax to a cup of the infused oil.). When it cools you have Chickweed Salve, useful for skin irritations., and great for sunburn. Chickweed can be chopped and zipped up in the blender with other greens and some water, or, even tastier, with some tomato juice to make a mineral rich green drink or a cold soup. I usually add a little tamari (a type of soy sauce ... in my opinion far superior to other soy sauces) and whatever culinary herbs you favour. It's great as a smoothie with pineapple juice too. (Just make sure you chop it up first so the length of it doesn't wr