Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Jumpin4Joy
Orangeburg, SC

May 19, 2010
8:16 PM

Post #7809208

This is my first time growing Dill and I want to use it for Pickles. It is starting to head out. Do I need to pick it now Or is there some way to save it for when Im ready for it? My Cucumbers still have a few weeks. I would also love a good Pickle reipe. I love those Claussins Pickles. Yummy. How much Dill should go per jar. Im all new as you can see. I dont want the frig pickles I prefer to can them for winter use.
Ayrica
Castlewood, SD

May 20, 2010
10:33 PM

Post #7812625

I froze my dill when it was just starting to flower. I snipped off about 7-8 inches below the flower, then just placed it on a cookie sheet for about 30 minutes in the freezer before putting it into a freezer bag. When my cukes were ready I took out what I needed as I needed it and I really couldnt tell the difference. There are many different good dill pickle recipes out there, but through trial and error with my family of 6 .. here is the recipe that I will continue to use, because everyone seemed to love it!

Dill Pickles (6 pints)
3 pounds of 4 inch cucumbers or (smaller even)
3 cups white vinegar
3 cups water
1/4 cup pickling salt
1/4 cup sugar
6-9 heads of dill with partial stem or 6 tbsp. dill weed
Thoroughly rinse cucumbers. Remove the stems and cut off each blossom end. In a lrg saucepan combine water, vinegar, salt and sugar. Bring to a good boil.
Pack a couple pieces of dill into each sterilzed, hot jar.. then follow with the cucumbers (I turn my jar sideways to pack them so the dill stays in place) Pour hot vinegar mix over the cucumbers and make sure to leave 1/2 inch headspace at the top. Wipe the jar rims and adjust your lids. Process in boiling water bath for 10 minutes (start timing when water starts to boil) Remove jars and let cool completely. let sit 1 week before trying.