-
AuthorContent
Shaigirl
Murfreesboro, TN
(Zone 7a)

May 21, 2010
4:24 PM

Post #7814752

I'm new to gardening... and dahlias. Planted these "Lucky Number"s about a month ago. Amazed at how fast they sprouted... and how well they're growing. But today I noticed something! Most of the leaves are whole, but there is definitely a bunch in the front that are clearly missing chunks. I'm guessing this is not normal! Do I have an insect problem? I don't notice anything actually ON any of the leaves.

Thumbnail by Shaigirl
Click the image for an enlarged view.

Poochella
Issaquah, WA
(Zone 7a)

May 21, 2010
5:40 PM

Post #7815012

Looks like the work of the low, slow, slimy slug to me. Go out in early morning or dusk on search and destroy missions. Better still, do that AND get a good slug bait and use regularly. Sluggo and other iron based preps are non toxic, so if you have pets look for those; avoid the metaldehyde-based ones. (One little munch of toxic slug bait sent our dog to the emergency hospital- not fun.)

I just heard that Seattle is due for a 30 year grasshopper attack this summer! "They will eat trees, shrubs, anything." We see about 2 in the typical summer. Those of you with more grasshopper experience, do they eat dahlias?
queequeg_1
Pinellas Park, FL
(Zone 10a)

May 21, 2010
7:07 PM

Post #7815362

Eeeekkkkk!!!!! I know the ones here do. Strip the leaves to the stem. We don't get too many, as of late-just enough to be a semi pest (where's wood-KNOCK, KNOCK). They've usually left the flowers alone in the past. Oh no, Annie, what are you going to do?
todgor
West Caldwell, NJ
(Zone 6b)

May 21, 2010
8:44 PM

Post #7815637

Slugs or leaf miners, like the grasshopper, caterpillers, etc - boy they are doing a number already on my new hollyhocks.
Poochella
Issaquah, WA
(Zone 7a)

May 21, 2010
10:45 PM

Post #7815867