Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Cottage Gardening: A Southern Cottage Garden

Communities > Forums > Cottage Gardening
bookmark
Forum: Cottage GardeningReplies: 70, Views: 2,576
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent

JudyinGA

JudyinGA
Newnan, GA
(Zone 7b)

May 25, 2010
8:53 AM

Post #7825829

I am just beginning, but my sister's garden has been my inspiration. She and her husband have gardened for many years but only on this one for the past 10 years or so. Their 1930s era home is on three acres about 40 miles south of Atlanta. I think it is the epitome of a country cottage garden. Some photos are from 2009 when their garden was featured on their local county garden tour. I'd like to share it with you. Hope you enjoy it.

Thumbnail by JudyinGA
Click the image for an enlarged view.

JudyinGA

JudyinGA
Newnan, GA
(Zone 7b)

May 25, 2010
8:56 AM

Post #7825836

This was one of the first heralds of spring this year, just outside the sunroom window. A Yellow Rose of Texas, I believe the botanical name is kerria japonica. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

Thumbnail by JudyinGA

JudyinGA

JudyinGA
Newnan, GA
(Zone 7b)

May 25, 2010
8:58 AM

Post #7825842

Another early spring arrival ... daffodils and "thrift."

Thumbnail by JudyinGA

JudyinGA

JudyinGA
Newnan, GA
(Zone 7b)

May 25, 2010
8:59 AM

Post #7825848

And one of the earliest signs of spring around here, dogwood trees starting to blossom.

Thumbnail by JudyinGA

JudyinGA

JudyinGA
Newnan, GA
(Zone 7b)

May 25, 2010
9:01 AM

Post #7825850

Pansies in an old concrete planter decorate the porch.

Thumbnail by JudyinGA

JudyinGA

JudyinGA
Newnan, GA
(Zone 7b)

May 25, 2010
9:02 AM

Post #7825853

More pansies greet you at the back door.

Thumbnail by JudyinGA

JudyinGA

JudyinGA
Newnan, GA
(Zone 7b)