Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Cameras and Photography: Does anyone have insurance on their equipment?

Communities > Forums > Cameras and Photography
bookmark
Forum: Cameras and PhotographyReplies: 8, Views: 124
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
ducbucln
Kelseyville, CA
(Zone 8b)

May 30, 2010
1:42 PM

Post #7843160

I'm not a professional photographer but I read somewhere that it was possible to obtain a separate policy or "floater" on your camera equipment. I also read that you don't want to just add it to your homeowner's policy because the policy could later be canceled your premium would go up. Also found that if you just were to drop and damage your camera, the homeowner's policy wouldn't cover it.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
linthicum
Linthicum Heights, MD
(Zone 7a)

May 30, 2010
2:48 PM

Post #7843309

I'm a poor one to give advice since I don't always practice what I preach. That being said, you are absolutely correct in your comments.

You will probably pay $100 to $150 (annual premium) for $10,000 in coverage. Do you need it ? If it will make you sleep well at night, the answer is yes. I believe all insurance should be viewed from a catastrophic perspective. That is, can I afford the loss. If I had 10 lenses, each with a value of $1,000, I probably wouldn't opt for a floater. However, if I had one lens worth $10,000, I would probably buy the floater. You are covered for theft under your homeowners policy so that is not an issue.