Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Water Gardens: Green Water

Communities > Forums > Water Gardens
bookmark
Forum: Water GardensReplies: 45, Views: 686
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
melsalz
Mooresville, NC
(Zone 7b)

May 31, 2010
8:47 AM

Post #7845486

I am a newbie to this pond thing. I have searched and searched for the answer to my green water problem and hope that someone here can help. This is the first year. I'm in full sun most of the day and just recently added plants. I took a pH reading and I'm very high. So how do I go about lowering my pH. I had a pump circulating the water until recently. The frogs/toads found me and now I have all kinds of tadpoles. I was afraid by running the pump the tadpoles wouldn't survive so I turned it off. I bought a couple of feeder goldfish to help with any mosquito larvae. So my question is How do I lower the pH to get rid of the green water? This is the only picture I could find right now, trust me it looks a lot different now.

Thumbnail by melsalz
Click the image for an enlarged view.

lovetropics
Scottsdale, AZ
(Zone 9b)

June 1, 2010
7:30 AM

Post #7848230

Hi,
I am sorry but I also don't have much experience. It sounds like algae problem which I think gets worse in standing water.
blkraven2
Wells, TX
(Zone 8b)

June 1, 2010
7:37 AM

Post #7848251