Photo by Melody

Water Gardens: What To Plant Around Pond...Suggestions Please =)

Communities > Forums > Water Gardens
bookmark
Forum: Water GardensReplies: 5, Views: 92
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
heathrjoy
Weedville, PA
(Zone 6a)

June 2, 2010
7:01 PM

Post #7853589

Hey Everyone,
I'm new to ponding. It's technically DBF's pond and I don't know too much about it. It is freshwater fed. It drains into the river across the street. Because of that there can only be native plants...and native fish. But, I have the added bonus of not having to deal with algae.

I've been told the pond sometimes goes dry in August if it's real hot. I've been told to "just watch it for a year and see what it does before doing anything." I tihnk that's probably a good idea...so I'll do my bestest to do that...

But I can plant around the pond, right? LOL

Also, I'm a Peony and Petunia loving Cottage Garden style gal. *Sigh* Can't help it. There at least has to be the promise of lots of flowers from a plant or it doesn't interest me much...unless it is highly textured or colorful (think Wintercreeper or Hosta or Coral Bells). The pond is in full, all day sun.

So, what would be good to plant around the pond? Suggestions? There's a LOT of Pussy Willow growing in the pond. Some (maybe) wild Rose growin around it on the banks. I'm not planning on doing any wading anytime soon, so unless it really does go dry the Pussy Willow is on it's own. The Rose may stay or go, depending on what it looks like when it blooms. It may get moved to another area unitl it shows it's "worthiness". LOTS of work to do out there and I can't wait to get started. Have begun collecting things already, but don't know if they are good for this area or not. I'm working at a local gh this yr so I can hopefully fill in this area from work and from trades and generous neighbors.