You have too many plants! 2

Pittsford, NY(Zone 6a)

Thought I would start a new thread
http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/t/563917/#new

Thumbnail by ge1836
(Arlene) Southold, NY(Zone 7a)

Here's the photo we all seem to love so much, thanks to kattamos, which was the subject of "Too many plants". This thread is an extension of the one by kattamos.

Thumbnail by pirl
Pittsford, NY(Zone 6a)

Of course. I am new at starting new carryovers. Sorry for the mistake.

Thanks for the image Pirl.

Powder Springs, GA(Zone 7b)

You can never have too many, can you?

Thumbnail by hcmcdole
Pittsford, NY(Zone 6a)

I just love those begonias.Its not possible here.Thanks for sharing

hcm - beautiful.

ge - not here either.

Why is it not possible?

Thumbnail by hcmcdole
Pittsford, NY(Zone 6a)

Not humid enough and definatly not a perennial except as a house plant.I vant even keep them then.Dry in the winter.

Hmm, I thought the original post showed lots of begonias, coleus, colocasia, etc. which aren't perennials in most areas of the states. Begonias have to be moved indoors each fall and back out each spring. You can't be that arid to not grow begonias (even a couple).

Thumbnail by hcmcdole

Ge and I are proof! I wish it were otherwise but I've tried more than once and haven't had success. With so many beautiful plants on the market I won't spend more money on plants that don't like the conditions here.

Don't blame you there. Begonias can be frustrating when you first start in them but after you get the hang of what they want, they become like most other plants - addictive and fairly easy.

Millie & Ed Thompson who wrote the bible on begonias lived in NYC. Not sure if they gardened outdoors though. Below is a tribute to Millie's contributions.

http://www.begonias.org/milliethompson.htm

Pittsford, NY(Zone 6a)

I had an Escargo that lasted 1 year.