Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Hibiscus: Hibiscus ID Please???

Communities > Forums > Hibiscus
bookmark
Forum: HibiscusReplies: 31, Views: 197
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
tobee43
groveland, FL
(Zone 9b)

July 18, 2010
7:06 AM

Post #7977516

i'm "new" to hibiscus gowning coming from a zone 4...this has curly leaves and the flower is curly! i got it at an open market and the man didn't know what it was?? i'm certain someone will know...please!

thanks!

Thumbnail by tobee43
Click the image for an enlarged view.

tobee43
groveland, FL
(Zone 9b)

July 20, 2010
6:09 AM

Post #7982787

No ONE???? yikes...is that good or bad???
darkmoondreamer
(Karen) Frankston, TX
(Zone 8a)

July 20, 2010
7:56 AM

Post #7983092

I am not an expert but I will try to help you. It seems that the mass produced tropical hibiscus like Walmart, Lowe's and open markets carry are not named cultivars...Cultivars can only be reproduced by grafting and are more expensive. Others can be reproduced by seeds but the colors are never true to the parent. They are just generic tropical hibiscus. Someone please tell me if I'm incorrect.
tobee43
groveland, FL
(Zone 9b)

July 20, 2010
11:22 AM

Post #7983569

dark...thanks so much for the info...

actually this vendor has some of the most unique cultivators i have seen since logees...however, out on the open market square. i grabbed this one...and actually had to "covet" it...as the booth was extremely crowded with those knowing what a nice find this was. ( picked up 3 others that logee's now has as well from the same vendor).