Freezing before or after baking?

Calgary, AB(Zone 3a)

I've been making Tammy's Zuchiini pie - Zuchini, onions,cheese, eggs, Bisquick ,oil, all mixed up and baked in a pie pan.

It's pretty big and I want to make smaller sizes and freeze but dont know ( and she is not sure either) if it should be frozen before or after baking!

Opinions please - suspect it probably works both ways but I am not experienced in freezing anything like this.

carol

POTTSBORO, TX(Zone 7b)

My opinion based on limited experience-----freeze before baking.

Northeast, PA(Zone 6b)

thanks! I was curious too. I have two unbaked and one baked in my freezer. But I won't pull them out 'til this winter.

Tam

Decatur, GA

I use to make blackberry pies and freeze them before baking.... they came out beautifully. I don't know if the type of ingredients you are going to use would make a difference.
Helen

Frederick, MD(Zone 6b)

I'd be tempted to freeze some zucchini, then try thawing it and making the pie with it... if that worked, you'd just have to freeze the zucchini, cut the way you use it in the pie, rather than finding room in your freezer for the whole pie. Sounds like the other ingredients are readily available in winter...

Calgary, AB(Zone 3a)

Actually even the zuchini is readily available all year!

What I am doing is making it in very small pie plates (one and 2 portions) so that basically I am freezing individual pies so easier to store in the freezer and I dont have to bake a standard size pie

Anyway as it happens the zuchini patch this year is somewhat sparse so I dont have to do a lot of baking - usually I am busy making a variety of zuchini loaves and freezing them!

Boise, ID(Zone 5b)

I cooked mine first. Didn't think to freeze it uncooked.

I doubled the recipe and cooked it in a 13 x 9 pan. When it was cool, I cut it up and put in 'lunch' size containers and froze it. It was wonderful for a quick lunch during the winter. I also varied the cheese. I liked it with Swiss.