Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Canning, Freezing and Drying: Freezing before or after baking?

Communities > Forums > Canning, Freezing and Drying
bookmark
Forum: Canning, Freezing and DryingReplies: 20, Views: 224
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
fancyvan
Calgary, AB
(Zone 3a)

August 17, 2010
5:24 PM

Post #8046130

I've been making Tammy's Zuchiini pie - Zuchini, onions,cheese, eggs, Bisquick ,oil, all mixed up and baked in a pie pan.

It's pretty big and I want to make smaller sizes and freeze but dont know ( and she is not sure either) if it should be frozen before or after baking!

Opinions please - suspect it probably works both ways but I am not experienced in freezing anything like this.

carol

VORTREKER

VORTREKER
POTTSBORO, TX
(Zone 7b)

August 18, 2010
12:22 PM

Post #8047698

My opinion based on limited experience-----freeze before baking.

Tammy

Tammy
Barto, PA
(Zone 6b)

August 18, 2010
3:10 PM

Post #8048040

thanks! I was curious too. I have two unbaked and one baked in my freezer. But I won't pull them out 'til this winter.

Tam
helenchild
Decatur, GA

August 19, 2010
10:07 AM

Post #8049569

I use to make blackberry pies and freeze them before baking... they came out beautifully. I don't know if the type of ingredients you are going to use would make a difference.
Helen
critterologist
Frederick, MD
(Zone 6b)

August 29, 2010
7:56 PM

Post #8069712

I'd be tempted to freeze some zucchini, then try thawing it and making the pie with it... if that worked, you'd just have to freeze the zucchini, cut the way you use it in the pie, rather than finding room in your freezer for the whole pie. Sounds like the other ingredients are readily available in winter...
fancyvan
Calgary, AB
(Zone 3a)

August 30, 2010
7:02 AM

Post #8070290

Actually even the zuchini is readily available all year!