Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Herbs: Basil turning black after harvesting....

Communities > Forums > Herbs
bookmark
Forum: HerbsReplies: 5, Views: 103
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
RxAngel
Stratford, TX
(Zone 6b)

August 23, 2010
10:39 PM

Post #8058659

Last year's harvest was great, tied the stems together, hung upside down to dry, and had a wonderful winter of garden herbs for cooking and had lots for Christmas gifts as well.

Well, this year, I've now had this happen twice. I harvest the basil and bring it in, put it in a fresh water soak to rinse the dirt off, then get distracted and come back, sometimes only an hour later, and it has turned the leaves black. Not all of it turns, just some of the leaves, and on parts of the leaves, with the rest staying green.

I'm pretty new to herbs, so I'm not sure what's going on...and if I can go ahead and use the black parts, or should I discard them? The plants are extremely healthy, and the taste and aroma is wonderful. And if this is normal, how can I store the basil fresh for use a couple days later? I see it sold in grocery stores as fresh leaves and they look fine.

Thanks for any advice...

Angie
RxAngel
Stratford, TX
(Zone 6b)

August 23, 2010
11:16 PM

Post #8058690

Also, some of the branches are just beginning to put on evidence of flowers...still green on the tips, but distinctive start to the flowering. When does the basil generally become bitter...when the flower is completely bloomed out, or when it begins to put on the blooms at first?

If it doesn't become bitter until the flowers actually bloom out, can the ends be used with the leaves for drying herbs for cooking? Or should I pinch that off and discard it?

Also, does it matter how large and old the leaves are, as long as it hasn't flowered? Or are the larger, older leaves bitter?