Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
IlovemyTiger
Irving, TX

September 6, 2010
2:43 PM

Post #8083881

I tried to germinate a few of these banana seeds in april and got absolutely nothing. I know I did a few things wrong, like using soil and not sterilizing the container. This is my first time germinating something really difficult. There are SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO many different techniques people use to germinate, and on top of that banana is supposed to be tough right? There scarification, stratification, hot water soaks, acid soaks, sterilization to prevent fungus, heat, and then all of the different mediums you can use to start the seed in. What the heck do I do? I really wanna get banana sprouts in like three weeks, not in two years like some others get. What is the best growing medium? (i wanna try and be as cheap as I can) Do bananas benefit from stratification? How cold and how long? Can I do scarification, AND gibberellic acid? If I do acid, how much and how? could I still do hot water soaks if I use acid? Should I sterilize the seed in a bleach, or peroxide, solution? I was just gonna set em on top of the hot water heater for heat since that's really all I have, but it's in a dark place. would I be better off keeping them on a windowsill somewhere and sacrificing the heat? (north texas is usually 90+ so outside is probly not a good idea) GOSH @_@! should I grow them in plastic baggies? or old lunch meat tupperware?
tropicalnut777
Provo, UT
(Zone 5a)

November 12, 2010
1:50 PM

Post #8208403

hi ilovemytiger..
coo that u are trying bananas from seed..i am too..this will be my 1st attempt..so i dont know if i
have much helpful info for you.. there is a wealth of info on bananas.org ..even a germination site there too..
all the people there are very helpful..
what im doing on my ensete..and musa seeds is i score them with a file..just to where i see some of the