Photo by Melody

Soap and Candle-making: making soy candles, any wicking advice?

Communities > Forums > Soap and Candle-making
bookmark
Forum: Soap and Candle-makingReplies: 4, Views: 36
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
cndlrookie
Hudson, FL

September 28, 2010
7:12 PM

Post #8126852

Hey out there. I am new to candle making and need some help. I am having problems with finding the right type of wick. I am using ecosoya advanced and bought the reccommended LX wick which would barely burn. I have also purchased the golden brand 464 and going to try the eco 14 wick for my 3 in container. I see this is going to be trial and error but if anyone could offer some suggestions or advice it would be great!
teamzuber
Colonia, NJ

January 17, 2011
6:43 PM

Post #8316177

Hey Cndlrookie...

Unfortunately, I do not have any advice for you, but WAS wondering if you got any answers from anywhere else. I, too, am having the same issues. I'm using the EcoSoya CB-Advanced wax, a size LX-22 wick in a 8 oz. mason jar with a 3.25 diameter. I found that my candles are burning with a very small (almost none-existent) flame and tunnel through the wax. Any suggestions?
winterrobin
South Dennis, NJ
(Zone 7b)

May 31, 2011
1:21 PM

Post #8599619

Hi guys...are you still there?

I haven't been active on the forums for a while, and I just found this thread.

Don't you just hate those drowning wicks? I've been there. After a year and a half of experimenting with various wicks and waxes, it's down to this: I use 464 wax exclusively, use CD-14 wicks for most jars, and for large containers (3" and over), I double wick with CD-14. Even wicking up to CD-18 and CD-20 did not create a melt pool all the way to the container walls in apothecary size jars. Actually, double wicking is easier to get right than trying to center a single wick perfectly.

cndlrookie, your Eco-14 is the same strength as CD-14. Just try using two in a 3" jar. I'm sure it will work for you.