-
AuthorContent
franknjim
Peoria, IL
(Zone 5a)

October 2, 2010
8:13 AM

Post #8133013

I was trying to kill a couple of weeks so I decided to take up crocheting. I made this 62" x 72" six color afghan using a pattern for a 6" square. It took me 11 days from start to finish. I reversed the pattern half way to change it up a bit. I did practice making a couple of the 6" squares before I started the afghan.

I am starting my second project today and it is quite a bit more difficult but I love a challenge. It will be a Cathedral Rose Window Afghan with a 78" diameter. I am a beginner so I started off with an easy level pattern. Now that I have that one done I will do the intermediate level project. This is my new hobby and I go overboard with every hobby I have ever taken up. In the past two weeks I have bought 4 different sized crochet hooks, three books plus two patterns, about 60 skeins of yarn(picking up another 17 skeins & another hook today) and I bought a knitting machine to learn that as well. I am picking up another knitting machine today to join it to my first one that also has two extensions so I can knit 84" wide pieces. I am learning the knitting machine on my crochet breaks so I can alternate between projects.

Frank

Thumbnail by franknjim
Click the image for an enlarged view.

franknjim
Peoria, IL
(Zone 5a)

October 2, 2010
8:17 AM

Post #8133025

This is the Cathedral Rose Window Afghan that is my next project.

Thumbnail by franknjim

franknjim
Peoria, IL
(Zone 5a)

October 2, 2010
8:22 AM

Post #8133036

This will be my third project. Six Pointed Star Afghan. The pattern says that this is an experienced level project so after I do the intermediate project of the window I should be able to do this one. After looking at both patterns I think the window will be more difficult than this one. But I like them both more than any others I have seen so I want them both!

Frank

Thumbnail by franknjim

helenethequeen

helenethequeen
Longboat Key, FL
(Zone 9b)