Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Carnivorous Plants: Help-brown tips on Scarlet Belle

Communities > Forums > Carnivorous Plants
bookmark
Forum: Carnivorous PlantsReplies: 14, Views: 64
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
jamiew
Montgomery, AL

October 15, 2010
9:21 AM

Post #8157344

This is Sarracenia 'scarlet belle'. There is new growth but the tips are all brown and not red. I'm new to this type of plant and don't know what's wrong. She sits in a tray of rain water from my barrel outside and is constantly moist. She's located about 10 feet from a Southern window in indoor temps of 70-75 degrees. How can I get the tips to turn the pretty red color? Thanks.

Thumbnail by jamiew
Click the image for an enlarged view.

tommyr2006
Poughkeepsie, NY

October 15, 2010
3:39 PM

Post #8157971

Normal decay and it should be OUTdoors.
newtonsthirdlaw
Arlington, TX

October 15, 2010
4:28 PM

Post #8158026

It will love your climate, just keep it wet. Mine are out all year and they are doing well.
C

breeindy

breeindy
north coast nsw
Australia

October 15, 2010
5:51 PM

Post #8158124

Sarracenias grow in full sun and thats what brings there red colours out, if in to less light they stay green and will eventually die. Most die down in the cold and re-shoot as it warms up.

This message was edited Oct 15, 2010 8:52 PM

This message was edited Oct 15, 2010 8:52 PM

Thumbnail by breeindy

jamiew
Montgomery, AL

October 15, 2010
9:26 PM

Post #8158444

Thanks for the information! Can I leave it outside in zone 8b in a container? I don't want to plant it because my yard doesn't stay boggy. That picture of yours is so beautful!
newtonsthirdlaw
Arlington, TX

October 15, 2010
11:24 PM

Post #8158522