Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Soil and Composting: Help, I have roots in my compost

Communities > Forums > Soil and Composting
bookmark
Forum: Soil and CompostingReplies: 10, Views: 113
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Soaper1
Saint Louis, MO
(Zone 6a)

October 17, 2010
11:58 AM

Post #8160749

I started composting last year with a Soil Saver Compost bin. I am a newbie to trying to use a bin. It is very difficult to try to turn the compost in this bin (I just read that it is easier to pick up the bin and move it to turn the compost). This spring, I had beautiful compost except it had a lot of roots in it. I went ahead and used it on my vegetable garden and it was a disaster...my garden was so full of grass I could not possibly pull it out or keep up with it. It turned out to be a weed and grass garden! I won't do that again! It is better to buy the compost I need, if that is the result!

I just started shoveling the compost and the bin is full of roots again. I shoveled it out and there are a lot of roots coming in from the bottom.

Is there a way that I can use my compost, or do I need to throw it out? How can I prevent this from happening?

kmom246
Murfreesboro, TN
(Zone 7a)

October 17, 2010
2:19 PM

Post #8160934

I don't know how well this will work, but here's some ideas

* Put several layers of newspaper on the ground or overlapping cardboard before and set your composter on it
* Run a "hot" compost pile instead of a "cold" one
* Spread pulled weeds and grass on newspaper to dry before adding to compost pile
* Don't put in weeds or grass that has seeds on them
* "Sanitize" compost by putting a layer on newspaper, dampening, cover with clear plastic and let "cook" for a week (maybe more?) to help kill grass and also seeds. I don't know if this will kill all the seeds, but it should help.