Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Article: Bradford Pear Tree (To plant or not to plant): What to do now?

Communities > Forums > Article: Bradford Pear Tree (To plant or not to plant)
bookmark
Forum: Article: Bradford Pear Tree (To plant or not to plant)Replies: 2, Views: 22
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
jbush712
Columbia, TN

October 21, 2010
10:43 PM

Post #8168903

I am new to this web site, and also to my new home. We just purchased a seven year old home that has fourteen Bradford Pear trees lining the driveway. After reading most of the above posts, and also based on my previous knowledge of this tree, I am determined to do something about them before they start to create problems. As yet there are no suckers, but there is uneven growth up the base of the trunks, with some limbs starting low to the ground, and other trees starting their limbs about three to four feet off the ground. This makes for difficult mowing around them, and some of the lower limbs have actually broken off with minimal contact. Having trees to line the drive is a nice touch, but what can I use to replace these with that will not be a hazard, and that will be uniform? I am not a fan of evergreens, and anyway have a myriad of them around the house.
debnes_dfw_tx
Fort Worth, TX
(Zone 8a)

November 11, 2010
7:43 AM

Post #8206296

Sorry for the long delay in getting back to you. You are very wise to consider replacing them now, and finding a suitable replacement. Since they are less than 10 years old it will much easier to eradicate them.