Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Computer Talk: Best FREE Antivirus

Communities > Forums > Computer Talk
bookmark
Forum: Computer TalkReplies: 47, Views: 459
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
haighr
Hagerstown, MD
(Zone 6a)

January 8, 2011
7:15 AM

Post #8298781

I am looking for a free virus protection for my desktop which I seldom use. I heard of AVG? Any thoughts appreciated.

jasminesmom

jasminesmom
Saugerties, NY
(Zone 5a)

January 8, 2011
7:23 AM

Post #8298788

I've been using AVG for a couple of years now and I've never had any problems with it :>)
Christine
Dyson
Rocky Mount, VA
(Zone 7a)

January 8, 2011
7:39 AM

Post #8298816

Back in the day, when I ran my own computer business, I got calls from several people having problems that turned out to be virus related. Several of them were running AVG.

I have used Norton for years and have also gotten virus related problems on my own system. (If you hit the virus before the update is out - it will get you - free or paid).

The risk is generated by the people you deal with because many of the virus will email itself to all of an address book on an infected machine.

The best defense against is to have a complete, updated backup of your hard drive.
haighr
Hagerstown, MD
(Zone 6a)

January 8, 2011
7:48 AM

Post #8298830

Thanks, I do have an updated backup. I had been using Norton and just had my computer wiped and was informed that the Norton was part of the problem with my system running so slowly. So I think I will try the Avg this time.
Horseshoe
Efland, NC
(Zone 7a)

January 8, 2011
7:50 AM

Post #8298838