Photo by Melody

Seed Germination: Too late to start tomatoes and peppers?

Communities > Forums > Seed Germination
bookmark
Forum: Seed GerminationReplies: 18, Views: 407
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
utxhorns
Cleburne, TX

January 9, 2011
10:44 AM

Post #8300644

I haven't planted my seedlings yet is it to late for a middle to the end of March planting? I haven't even bought my planting mix. I looked at Home Depot but the bags looked at least a year old. Does this matter? What do y'all use for a planting mix? I'm new to starting seedlings as you can tell.
Zen_Man
Ottawa, KS
(Zone 5b)

January 9, 2011
11:05 AM

Post #8300681

utxhorns,

It's not too late. In fact, it might be too early. Tomatoes and peppers grow fairly fast, and the plants can become fairly large in two months. If you have good lighting (greenhouse or fluorescent lights or HID light(s)) you can re-pot to larger pots and have some very large plants to set out when there is no frost danger. In the past, I have set out tomatoes in bloom and peppers with small peppers on them. The same with eggplants. I prefer Premier ProMix BX as my growing medium. I use it for both seed starting and for re-potting to larger pots. I have been adding some extra Perlite to the Premier ProMix BX

http://www.amazon.com/General-Purpose-Plant-Growing-Mycorize/dp/B003P08G62/ref=pd_sbs_ol_4

I notice that there is a new "high porosity" formula called Premier ProMix HP

http://www.amazon.com/Premier-Horticulture-432P-Pro-mix-Mycorise/dp/B001O85RX2/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1294553213&sr=8-3