Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
bigbob7777
Murphy, NC

January 11, 2011
12:00 PM

Post #8304837

Sorry, the more I read; the more confused I get. Is this correct or close? Zone 6b

1. IN Jan/Feb fill Walmart container with 3-4" wet potting soil (soil-less?).
2. Sow seeds to appropriate depth.
3. Cut slits in top & bottom of container for drainage & air.
4. PLace containers outside in part sun (or is full sun better - worried about "cooking").
5. Don't worry about rain/snow.
Questions: When do I plant in ground?
If I initially plant into 16oz styrofoam cups inside the containers (another option in step 1), do I remove styrofoam when transplanting or just cut bottom off of cups and plant the whole thing?
How/when do I water?

Is this a good scenario?
Cem9165
Duluth, GA
(Zone 7b)

January 11, 2011
4:01 PM

Post #8305342

Bigbob, I'm new to wintersowing but I'v read a lot of the threads, see Gymgirl's thread about wintersowing around the winter solstice and the wintersowing sticky on page 1 of the wintersowing threads. Your containers need to be cut before the soil and seeds are put in them. They recommend a good draining potting soil, and yes the containers are placed outside where rain or snow can get in them to water your seeds. Please remove them from the styrofoam cups before planting in the ground since the styrofoam won't degrade for a long time and the roots of your plants will need lots of room to grow. Water your seeds if the soil is getting dry. Welcome to the wintersowing forum.

This message was edited Jan 11, 2011 10:43 PM

Gymgirl

Gymgirl
SE Houston (Hobby), TX
(Zone 9a)

January 12, 2011
8:54 AM

Post #8306539

Thank You, Cem9165...

^^_^^ (You know who!)

RickCorey_WA

RickCorey_WA
Everett, WA
(Zone 8a)

January 12, 2011
12:36 PM

Post #8306969

Can anyone suggest a seedling mix that will resist bein g flooded? With my constant rian, I expect any top slits at all to let in MUCH too much rain.