-
AuthorContent
summerflower
Salem, OR
(Zone 8a)

January 12, 2011
9:42 AM

Post #8306626

Hi all, I have read up on winter sowing, but my question is: Are there any kind of seeds that I can put directly in to the ground without protection??
Thanks Guys!!!!
Lisa

Admin note: This user account is an alias for a past member, lljjz, whose account was terminated in July 2010 for failure to complete trades in a timely manner. This account has been terminated as well. If you find this member reappearing under any other alias, please notify us immediately.

RickCorey_WA

RickCorey_WA
Everett, WA
(Zone 8a)

January 12, 2011
1:07 PM

Post #8307024

Maybe I shouldn't speak up, since I kill more seeds than I grow. And I'm a total WS newbie. but maybe my ignorance will encourage someone knowledgable to answer!

But I have good luck with direct-sowing Bok Choy (like Chinese Cabbage, a Brassica), Swiss chard and Snow Peas, as long as soil and weather let them grow faster than slugs can eat them. You can put Zinnias and Marigolds right into the ground. None of them need cold-stratification to germinate, and they grow so fast they need little protection.

I think "WS" just duplicates what people used to call a sheltered seedbed, or a cold frame. It protects delicate, fussy or slow seeds until they can fend for themselves. And gives a small area excellent, sterile soil, controlled humidity and soil mositure, and extra warmth.

I think it depends on how vigorous (fast-germinating and growing) the seed is. And your soil temperature, soil diseases, the quality of your soil, and numbers of insects, snails and slugs.

I see you're in Zone 8a OR - if a rainy part of OR, I would ask: "got many slugs?" Machine-gun holes with slimy patches?