Photo by Melody

High Yield Gardening: Gardening against the odds? Help!

Communities > Forums > High Yield Gardening
bookmark
Forum: High Yield GardeningReplies: 9, Views: 140
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
kathy4836
Indiana, PA
(Zone 5a)

January 17, 2011
5:40 AM

Post #8314762

Hello everyone! I've sorta/kinda been a lurker for a long time. I'm a very very novice gardener. I have been trying, but I seem to not get much of a good crop of anything except onions and green beans! I'm hoping I can learn to do it right! I caught the gardening bug because my husband got congestive heart failure year before last and couldn't do the digging and planting himself and I had to do the work (he's not such a great gardener either! hehehe!) Who knew I'd enjoy it so much!

We have a small piece of property (64 X 150) with a 200 year old farmhouse in the middle of it. Mostly uphill, with heavy clay soil and two black walnut trees very close by. So, you see, the poor gardening results are not all my fault! LOL! I'm hoping to learn how to deal with all of that! I'm here for any advice and suggestions I can get. I'm interested in growing veggies, more than flowers,hence my interest in the 'Beginner vegetables' forum. If I can get the vegetable growing down, I might try flowers!

I have several raised gardens, one of them has strawberries in it. I'm hoping they come up again this year, although we've had problems with deer.. I planted garlic the week of Columbus day, and it's sleeping under the snow. I hope to see it coming up late in the spring. I also have one horseradish that has somehow managed to come up in spite of the heavy clay soil. That's pretty much where I am right now.

Kathy

HoneybeeNC

HoneybeeNC
Charlotte, NC
(Zone 7b)

January 17, 2011
6:45 AM

Post #8314883

Hi, Kathy, congratulations on coming out of "lurker" status!

It's hard to know where to start to help you out.